Navarathri Starts-15-Oct-2023

Navratri – A Nine Day Spring Festival

Vasantha Navarathri
Difference between Vasanta and Sharad Navaratri - India TV | Lifestyle News – India TVNavratri is a Hindu festival that spans nine nights and is celebrated in various parts of India. The word “Navratri” is derived from two Sanskrit words: “Nav” meaning nine and “Ratri” meaning night. The festival typically falls in the months of September or October, depending on the lunar calendar. Navratri is dedicated to the worship of the Hindu goddess Durga and celebrates her victory over the demon Mahishasura.Here are some key points about Navratri:

  1. Nine Nights: Navratri is observed for nine consecutive nights and ten days. Each day is dedicated to one of the nine forms of the goddess Durga, known as Navadurga. These forms are Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidhatri.
  2. Fasting and Worship: Devotees observe fasting during Navratri, abstaining from certain foods and often consuming only vegetarian meals. They offer prayers, perform aarti (rituals with lamps), and visit temples dedicated to Goddess Durga. Some people also set up home altars for daily worship.
  3. Garba and Dandiya Raas: In Gujarat and other parts of India, Navratri is celebrated with colorful and energetic dance forms like Garba and Dandiya Raas. People dress in traditional attire, gather in large groups, and dance to the beat of music using sticks (Dandiya) or by forming circular patterns (Garba).
  4. Cultural Celebrations: Navratri is not just a religious festival but also a cultural celebration. In addition to dance and music performances, many regions organize processions, exhibitions, and other cultural events during this time.
  5. Vijayadashami: The tenth day of Navratri is celebrated as Vijayadashami or Dussehra. It marks the victory of Goddess Durga over Mahishasura and the triumph of good over evil. In many parts of India, effigies of the demon king Ravana are burned to symbolize the victory of Lord Rama over Ravana, as described in the Hindu epic, the Ramayana.
  6. Regional Variations: Navratri is celebrated with different traditions and customs in various parts of India. For example, in West Bengal, it is observed as Durga Puja, which involves grand processions and idol immersions. In North India, it is marked by Ramlila performances, while in South India, it is celebrated as Golu or Bommai Kolu, where figurines and dolls are displayed on steps.
  7. Spiritual Significance: Navratri is a time for devotees to seek the blessings of Goddess Durga for strength, wisdom, and protection. It is believed that during these nine nights, the divine energy of the goddess is particularly potent, and sincere devotion and prayer can lead to spiritual growth and fulfillment.

Navratri is a joyous and colorful festival that brings communities together to celebrate the divine feminine energy and the triumph of good over evil. It holds significant cultural and religious importance in India and among Hindu communities worldwide.


Oct 15 2023


All Day

Share Your Thoughts